Hieronymus Bosch

garden of earthly delights

Jeroen (‘Hieronymus’ or ‘Jheronumus’) Bosch (1480-1516)

Above: "The Garden of Earthly Delights", detail of right pane: "Hell".
Below: "The Last Judgment", Central panel.

Bosch only created 25 paintings and 8 drawings in his short career. But they still remain influential because of their completely original style, full of fantasy, details, humour and imagination. Read more about this great Dutch medieval painter at the award-winning website www.boschuniverse.com.

last judgment