Sol Invictus

Sol Invictus

Sol Invictus is an English apocalyptic folk band around Tony Wakeford. Wakeford was previously active in Crisis and Death in June. In the early 80’s he first made an album under the name Above the Ruins, before he started Sol Invictus. Sol Invictus has produced quite a numer of good albums so far, which made them one of the best-known bands of the World Serpent label. The music, which combines acoustic folk with classical elements, is of a constant high quality. The lyrics are interesting too, often with criticism on modern society. Wakeford may not be one of the most gifted singers, but he delivers the songs with passion.

It is hard to choose a favourite album, but I think it must be the melancholic “In the rain”. Also succesful was “The Blade”, with a more robust sound. Recommended for beginners in the world of Sol is the album “In Europa”, with various classics, recorded live for radio sessions. It contains nothing but highlights, like ‘A rose in hell’, ‘A ship is burning’, ‘Against the modern world’, etc.

The latest studio albums are “In a Garden Green”, “The Hills of Crosses” and “Thrones”. These albums show a variety of influences, from classical to even jazz. Wakeford also has a wonderful neo-classical side-project called L’Orchestre Noir, and has released solo work and collaborations. Sol Invictus has always been a collective of talented musicians, like Karl Blake, Eric Roger, Sally Doherty and Matt Howden, who have all succesful solo careers too. Howden had a large influence on the latest album “Thrones”, not only as violinst but also as producer. On Stage Sol Invictus always is of very high quality, which is proven by the live albums “Trieste” and “Brugge”.


  • Against The Modern World LP (Eyes Media, 1987)
  • In The Jaws Of The Serpent LP (SVL, 1989)
  • Lex Talionis LP (Cerne 1989)
  • Sol Veritas Lux (Tursa, 1990)
  • Lex Talionis (Tursa 1990)
  • Trees in Winter (Tursa, 1990
  • The Killing Tide (Tursa, 1991)
  • Let us prey (live, Tursa, 1992)
  • King and Queen (Tursa, 1992)
  • The death of the west (Tursa, 1994)
  • In the rain (Tursa, 1995)
  • The blade (Tursa, 1997)
  • In Europa (compilation, Tursa, 1998)
  • All things stange and rare (rare tracks, Tursa, 1998)
  • In a garden green (Tursa, 1999)
  • Trieste (live, Tursa, 2000)
  • Hill of Crosses (Tursa, 2000)
  • Brugge (live, Tursa, 2001)
  • Thrones (Tursa, 2002)
  • The Giddy Whirls of Centuries (compilation, Tursa, 2002)